Merriweather Sans and the basic weight of Merriweather Italic are done

Merriweather Sans in 4 weights and the 1st weight of Merriweather Italic have been released to Google. These editions covers all of the Adobe Latin 3 glyph set. It is quite broad. My guess is that you should see them in 1-2 weeks. I hope to have the full re-released of the serif out complete with support for more languages and windows hinting off to Google later this week. Thanks for everybody’s patience! Support for vietnamese will have to wait until the next edition. I am sorry about that.

About Merriweather

Merriweather: a type family being developed by Eben Sorkin.
This entry was posted in Font and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Merriweather Sans and the basic weight of Merriweather Italic are done

  1. Eben, thanks so much for your outstanding work on this project. I don’t wanna sound pushy or nuthin’, but is there any way to get the new italic without having to wait for Google? I’m just so damned eager to give it a whirl😀

    I checked the github repository but I don’t see the italic version there. I don’t suppose you could upload it to Dropbox or something…?

    • Merriweather says:

      I have emailed you a TTF. Would you be using it on “thinkingmatters.org.nz”? The use of italic is nice there.

      • Thanks very much! I’m not using it on thinkingmatters.org.nz, but I will be testing it at http://www.attentionthievery.com, as well as in several information proucts I’m working on. I’ve been comparing it to Noticia Text, but I’m leaning toward Merriweather because it seems more even, and has more of a true slab appearance (like a toned-down Adelle). Also, Merriweather has gorgeous old style figures, which is sadly quite rare these days — as well as much prettier, idiosyncratic glyphs for things like question marks and quotes.

        That said, one criticism I’d like to offer of Merriweather is the ampersand. I think that’s a glyph where a font can really show its personality, but this just ain’t very interesting: &

        Mind you, Noticia Text has basically the same ampersand so you don’t really lose points there. You just don’t get any extra😉

      • 0gres says:

        At the very least, I think the ampersand should have serifs rather than curved terminals.

      • Merriweather says:

        That’s an interesting point. I think I will revise along those lines.

  2. Merriweather says:

    Interesting! I expect I’ll offer several ampersands in the commercially licensable versions.🙂 But seriously because numbers and question marks get so much more use I think I probably put my attention more fully on them. The ampersand is also pretty complicated visually and I think I may have just been satisfied when it rendered fairly well. But I’ll take that on board and chew on it. Thanks!

  3. 0gres says:

    Wow! The italics as shown on the link look amazing; I can’t wait to see Merriweather Sans.

Leave a Reply

