Merriweather Sans preview

To see these image full size click on them. The windows rendering may actually be better than the Mac OSX in Safari which is what you see here in the last example.

ImageImage

Image

About Merriweather

Merriweather: a type family being developed by Eben Sorkin.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Font and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Merriweather Sans preview

  1. adrianh says:

    Bravo sir! Looking good!

  2. Thanks a lot, Eben, a very nice complement to Merriweather. A clear font that’s pleasing to read.

    Could you tell us a bit more about the choice you made in the “y”?
    It reminds me of Aller, although horizontal and vertical thickness are exactly opposite there.

    • Merriweather says:

      I am glad you like it. About the Merriweather Sans “y”; in general what I tried to do with the Sans was to loose most but not all of the contrast that is in the serifed version has. In the case of this y I probably went too far and ended up making something that has a bit more weight on the right side than I want. Is this is what you mean?

  3. That looks gorgeous! I look forward to using it in my upcoming projects.

  4. Craig Smith says:

    Good work. It looks like it should render well at various sizes and be good for screen use.

    When will we see an update/release re the serif italic?

  5. Muj (@m_u_j) says:

    Amazing! I’m so looking forward to add this to a website (that uses the Sans) instead of Arial.

  6. 0gres says:

    Merriweather is amazing. The last time a saw a serif font this innovative and simultaneously usable (Cassia, by Hoftype), someone was charging $49 for it. And that’s not even counting or using the sans-serif version.
    But we still don’t have italics or Merriweather Sans, and there’s been no news for some time. Could you please give us some sign you haven’t abandoned this project, and also give a tenative release date for italic and sans?
    Please know that I understand how hard and tedious font design can be; I tried it myself for a while. I’m prepared to wait if that’s what quality takes.

  7. Merriweather says:

    Thanks for all of your kind words.

    There has been a lot of progress in the last few weeks but the pace of it left me with little time to post. I have not been good about posting even in the best of times. I am sorry about that.

    One of the big things that slowed me down was web site I made. You may be happy to see that there are new sneak peeks of Merriweather in various styles there. The URL is http://sorkintype.com

    Current status ( Jan 12 2012 ) of The merriweather project itself is that I am finally REALLY happy with the italic although it has only 2 weights now – the regular and light. The italic has become more upright and this makes it easy to read. But it still separates nicely from the roman. I think you could set whole books in it if you felt like it. I have one final adjustment to make to the design and then I will push it out the door.

    All four weights of the Sans were “done” but then I noticed some improvements that I made to the design in the italic which must now be merged into the upright serif and sans. I am also thinking of reducing the contrast slightly in the bold and maybe the regular for increased stylistic contrast with the roman.

    Improved Open type support for languages has also been developed for another font, Gelasio, and that needs to make its way back into Merriweather as well.

    But to the practical upshot of all this: I suspect that the hinted roman (all 4 weights) the hinted sans (all 4 weights) and at least 2 weights of the italic should be available in about a week.

    With luck a week after that should yield the Bold and Heavy Italic and the Sans Italic.

    I see what you mean about Cassia. The deep structure and intent are surprisingly similar. Cassia is clearly warmer.

    • 0gres says:

      Thank you for the quick response! Another question: what is the weight of Merriweather Sans we see in the image? Light or normal, or something else?

  8. Merriweather says:

    When you look at the Sorkin Type site you are starting to see the range of weights that Merriweather may come in in a commercial release. Web users probably don’t have a use for the very thin weights but print users may. The intention is to take many of the fonts I have made for Google fonts and create improved web and print versions. These improved versions will be “pro” and be for users who really need the highest quality, a larger range of OpenType features such as 4+ styles of numbers and so on. It is likely that Merriweather will get a slab ot “Egyptian” version. There will be wide and condensed styles too. In the meantime my hope is that many users find the basic 4 styles in Serif and Sans + italics are useful to them.

  9. Merriweather says:

    A & B – yes. They will cost money unless they are funded ahead of time.

    I could attempt a kickstarter or other fund vehicle project for that if I thought it would be funded. Or if an OS like Ubuntu, Firefox or a graphical desktop environment like KDE wanted them they could be bundled and/or become Libre like the set I am making now is.

    What’s your take on this? Would you want to organize for, advocate for or pay into a fund to make the whole project or just more of it Libre? Or will the 16 styles that are coming be enough for you?

    • 0gres says:

      Most likely yes (depending on what advantages the professional versions offer); I don’t need any weights beyond normal and bold with italics for each. I might donate, again depending on what advantages the professional versions offer.

      • Merriweather says:

        It would be interesting to know what uses and media you would like Merriweather to work in. What advantages would appeal to you most?

      • 0gres says:

        My main criteria in a font are seriousness (I write a lot and have no use for decorative fonts), harmony (I may reject a font based on a single non-harmonious character; Merriweather’s question mark kind of stretches the limits for me) and wide language support (as in IPA). In general, as long as it can be used in printed body text, it’s fine for me. I look forward to using Merriweather and Merriweather Sans together—I can’t wait for Sans’ release!

  10. 0gres says:

    Let me just say again how awesome I think Merriweather is. It’s very rare that you find such beautifully compatible serif and sans families; one of my favourites used to be Calluna and Calluna Sans.

  11. ashtarbalynestry says:

    I’d like to say this is definitely a beautiful and very useful font. I find that I will be using Merriweather as the main font of my website, because of its readability at small font sizes and its general awesomeness.
    However, there is one thing bothering me. The Latin-Extended A block, which covers Central European characters, is almost completely empty. I know that international coverage isn’t really a main priority, but the character set you have isn’t adequate for any single language. For example, Polish has ą, ę, ń and ż, but also ć, ś and ź, and Czech has ř, š and ž, but also č, ď, ť and ů. I’ll be very grateful if you could complete the Latin-Extended A characters.

    • ashtarbalynestry says:

      Something I forgot. I would much prefer for the entire Merriweather project to remain Open Source. Very few take the initiative to produce a free professional-quality font with this many variations.

      • Merriweather says:

        I have very broad plans for print versions and support for additional scripts. But for the whole thing to remain open source it will need to be funded. With luck and maybe your help it can stay that way. If you can get enough people together and formally petition Google that may help.

        But even if they don’t agree you will have 4 serifed romans, 4 serifed Italics, 4 Sans Serif Romans and 4 Sans serif Italics. That, along with language coverage might be enough for you.

        But if instead you do want to see broad coverage for Open type features including ligatures and a variety of number styles, Small caps and so on let Google know or ask Mozilla, Ubuntu, Red Hat or other Open Source software companies know you would like this as a resource.

    • Merriweather says:

      Thanks! Polish and Czech are covered in the next versions. The next release supports the following Unicode ranges: Latin-1, Latin-2: Eastern Europe, Turkish, and the symbol glyphs specific to the Macintosh Character Set. It also has opentype code to support localization for Turkish, Romanian, Crimean Tatar, Azeri and Moldovan. IT will also have much improved hinting. It is a very substantial improvement over the original.

  12. Merriweather says:

    I just revised another Goggle project (Gelasio) and I am returning to Merriweather today. I may be pushing the Sans Serif and 2 weights of the serif Italic out as of Thursday. But even if it is next wed because of the Boston Crafting Type workshop (http://craftingtype.com) then it will be at least a week after that before it goes live because Google have to process it internally. So I would say don’t expect it to be public before mid-Feb. You can a peek at the current state here as well: http://sorkintype.com

  13. Merriweather says:

    I can also send you a screen shot of a production version applied to a web page if it is useful to your planning.

Leave a Reply

