Got any requests?

If you have any requests for changes in the Merriweather get ’em in quick because the new version (1.3) is almost done. When it is I will post a guide to what is new & improved or simply different.

About Merriweather

Merriweather: a type family being developed by Eben Sorkin.
This entry was posted in Font and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Got any requests?

  1. What’s keeping me from using Merriweather straight away in place of Georgia? No real italic. Would love to hear if it’s in the pipeline. Thanks.

  2. No feature requests—you’ve already mentioned my wish list on the blog (delta hinting, italics, sans-serif). In order of importance, delta hinting is the most important feature for ; I discuss why on my blog at http://ags2.vk.tj

    I really think MerriWeather is a beautiful printing font and I think it has a lot of potential to become the open-source answer to Georgia. My only regret is that I’m currently not in a financial position to help compensate you for all of the hard work you have been doing making this really great font.

    • Merriweather says:

      Delta hinting of the current version is in progress now. I will post again here as soon as it is in to Google.

  3. No delta hinting; I explain why this in important in the link I provided.

    Oh, another thing: I think the question mark could use a redesign; it looks like a question mark that belongs in Comic Sans, not a more reserved serif font.

  4. Merriweather says:

    I’ll think about the question mark. The problem is that I have heard from many people that it is one of the features they like best so I am on the fence about it. Still, I’ll give it some thought.

  5. Great news! Just a single thing: I think you probably noticed it, but the colon glyph for the bold weight appears as a mid dot.

    • Merriweather says:

      There must have been a mix up with some files between me and Google. There will be an update again in the coming week. Thanks for pointing this out! Bugs must be killed.

      • rubenverborgh says:

        Hi Eben, I’m still having trouble with the colon glyph in the bold variant.
        Would it be possible to take a look at this?

      • Merriweather says:

        Wow! I gave them a fix a long time ago.😦

        I will see if I can get this sorted out as soon as possible. Thanks for the heads up!

        BTW – an even newer version with better rendering is in the works now along with Italic and Sans.

      • rubenverborgh says:

        Italic is coming, really? I’m looking forward to that!
        BTW, to see a fully Merriweather-driven look / site / video, check out http://freeyourmetadata.org

      • Merriweather says:

        Wow! That’s great to see. Thanks!

  6. Jon Wolf says:

    Italic and bold italic. Both are needed. They are needed more then a new version (IMHO).

    • Merriweather says:

      I don’t disagree, but there is a process to these things I have to follow or the work quadruples. I will be working on Sans next because of this process. What would help me a little is if you let me know what font’s italics you feel are the most successful. Put differently which fonts pairing of italic and roman work best for you? Why? Also, are you using this for print or on screen?

  7. Italics is the main thing for me as well. I would LOVE to use this typeface for a site I’m working on, but italics is the deal breaker.

  8. Hi!

    Thanks for the great font! Any updates on the with the colon glyph in the bold variant? I still get a single point, not a colon:/

    • Merriweather says:

      The release of the new Merriweather has been delayed by a change in the strategy for getting you a really properly optimized experience in Windows ( XP 7, 8 etc). Google has been funding a piece of hinting software and this became mature enough that it represented a better way to hint Merriweather ( and the other Sorkin type fonts ). Exciting as this was it meant that the design and specifically the weight of the regular had to be re-adjusted. This process is almost done now. I am hoping you will have not just a fully hinted set of upright roman Merriweather types but also the italic which is coming along very well now. I will post about both of these shortly.

  9. sdimartino says:

    Same request here on the colon in the bold version (for desktop use). Also an alternate “lining” number set would be awesome. When the content is heavy on numbers sometimes it’s a bit much to have the oldstyle dropped numbers.

    • Merriweather says:

      There will definitely be lining figures in the licensable print and webfont versions. The fix the colon in the bold will be free and is getting closer all the time. I am excited to have the new rendering and the italics out!

    • Merriweather says:

      The problem with the colon will be resolved in the next release. Having multiple styles of numbers will be a something that is found in the commercially licensable version.

      Sorry for the long delay! My studio has put something like 12 new fonts into Google web fonts in the last two months so the competition for time has been intense.

      Recent releases include Capriola, Cougette, and Amarante.

      Releases you will see soon include Tauri, Calistoga, Kavoon, Fruktur, and Arbutus Slab.

  10. There are six bugs in the Czech characters. bit.ly/MLw8xz
    Could you check it please? Thank you.

  11. In bold, colon ( : ) is still systematically displayed as a middot ( · ) and that’s a big problem, as you surely can suppose. I read there has been updates? Have I missed something?

    • Merriweather says:

      No, you are quite correct. The version that is coming to Google in the next week fixes this problem. It also does several other things including adding Cyrillic and radically improving rendering in Windows. When you use Merriweather do you hots the fonts locally or use the Google system? I can send you some files to test if you host locally. I don’t control the date & time of the Google update. I expect it to occur this month.

  12. Merriweather says:

    Hmm! Maybe we did fix that already.🙂 Anyway – be on the lookout for the new one it is radically better.

  13. Still think the question mark feels a little out of place with the rest of an otherwise fantastic font. A little too – whimsical/cartoony? We were actually dead set on using Merriweather and have decided on a different font due to the question mark (it would be used frequently on our blog).

    • Merriweather says:

      You will see the new question mark is less distinctive when this next version ships. Perhaps you will swap then.🙂 What did you go with in the meantime? Why? What is the name & URL of the blog?

      • Yeah, we would love to use Merriweather. We used FF Tisa in the meantime, similar to Merriweather with a more neutral question mark. The site is not up yet, but will definitely share when it’s launched! Appreciate the reply, and great work on the font.

Leave a Reply

