You can make Merriweather better.

You can make Merriweather better. And by better I mean better for you and what you want to use it for. There are two ways to do this:

# 1 Ask for what you want!
If you are Using Merrweather in something and it isn’t good enough in some way – Let me know! If you want a feature which isn’t provided yet, let me know! In many cases I will be able to do something about it. I would love to see what you are doing with it. Seeing your use will help me make the design of the font better too. Actually I would love to see anything anyone is doing with it! You don’t have to have a request.

# 2 Fund the feature/s you want!
The plan for Merriweather is typographically incomplete in some significant ways. For instance small caps, alternative number forms and letters for some Languages using Latin for are not yet funded by Google. There are also no plans for real superior numbers for academic and scientific use! I am absolutely open to adding these and other features to the project if they get funded. You or your company could fund the feature you want yourself. The mechanism for doing that is already in place: Just email me about the feature you want and I’ll let you know what it will cost and when I think it will be complete. I am also open to having features funded by multiple people perhaps via Kickstarter. Note too: Because it is a Libre font which is freely available it means that everybody benefits from the improvement! Funds can be sent to me by Paypal or by using Google’s pay mechanism on this page:

http://code.google.com/webfonts/family?family=Merriweather&subset=latin#download

Note: Google pay mechanism has been discontinued.

# 3 Beg Google
You could also ask Google to fund them directly – send me an email and I’ll forward it too Google! If you get enough people asking nicely – they might do it!

About Merriweather

Merriweather: a type family being developed by Eben Sorkin.
This entry was posted in Font. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You can make Merriweather better.

  1. stschulz says:

    Merriweather is a great font. But I missing the EURO-symbol (€). I think it is a time-consuming job. But the result is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

